All states › Georgia (SLBRCGC & Electrical Board)
If you hold a Georgia residential or general contractor license, it was due for renewal on June 30, 2026. That date has passed. What most contractors in that position assume next is that they are now in a late-fee situation that stays open indefinitely — pay a penalty whenever you get to it, carry on. Georgia's rule does not read that way. There is a penalty period, it is finite, it closes on December 31, and the Board's own language for what happens after that is not "expired." It is that failure to renew "shall have the same effect as a revocation of said license."
"Georgia contractor license" is not one credential. The Secretary of State's Licensing Division administers 42 boards, and several of them license people who would all describe themselves as contractors. The two this page covers in detail are the ones that catch the most people: the State Licensing Board for Residential and Commercial General Contractors and the Georgia State Board of Electrical Contractors. Separately administered boards also exist for Conditioned Air Contractors, Plumbers, Low Voltage Contractors and Utility Contractors — each with its own rules, which this page does not attempt to state. If you hold licenses across more than one of those, you are carrying more than one renewal obligation, and they do not share a deadline, a CE requirement, or a record-retention rule.
One thing Georgia does not require: a license to perform work that qualifies as a specialty trade, or a license to build your own home — though local building codes and permitting still apply in both cases.
Board Rule 553-12-.01(2) sets the renewal fee as "due and payable by June 30 of even numbered years." Rule 553-12-.05(2) says the same for the General Contractor Limited Tier and General Contractor Unlimited categories. 2026 is an even-numbered year, so the current cycle came due on June 30, 2026.
This is the single most common way a Georgia residential contractor arrives at renewal short on hours. Rule 553-12-.02(2)(a) requires, for the 2014 renewal and every one after it, that a renewal applicant have completed 3 hours of acceptable continuing education each year for a Residential Basic license and 6 hours each year for a Residential Light Commercial license — and it defines the year explicitly as July 1 through June 30.
Because the license only renews every two years, the natural reading is "3 hours per renewal." It is not. Across a two-year cycle a Residential Basic licensee owes 6 hours and a Residential Light Commercial licensee owes 12, accrued within the two separate July-to-June years — not bulk-taken in whichever year is convenient. The rule requires hours "during each year," which is a per-year test, not a total.
The Board's own FAQ states it plainly: Commercial General Contractors are not required to complete continuing education. Residential contractors are. So a firm holding both a Commercial General Contractor license and a Residential Basic license has one license with zero CE attached and one accruing 3 hours every July-to-June year, both renewing on the same June 30 date. The renewal that requires nothing is not the one that will cost you.
Rule 553-12-.03 accepts programs in building and related codes; functional fields of business such as finance, marketing, personnel relations and business management; legal, legislative or regulatory updates; workplace safety; workers' compensation; and building techniques and technology. Other subjects can qualify, but the provider or applicant carries the burden of getting them approved by the Residential Division before the class is offered for credit.
Rules 553-12-.02(2)(b) and 553-12-.04(3) require the licensee to keep documentation for two years following the end of the biennium in which the course was taken — school or organization, location, title or content description, program outline, dates attended, hours claimed, and evidence of completion. Note that this clock runs from the end of the biennium, not from the date of the class, so a course taken early in a cycle is on file considerably longer than two years from when you sat it.
Rule 553-12-.01(3) and Rule 553-12-.06(1) are the pair of provisions worth reading twice:
After that date the path is not renewal, it is reinstatement — and reinstatement is discretionary, not procedural:
That last point is why the December 31 date deserves a calendar entry rather than a mental note. A missed renewal in Georgia does not resolve into a bigger fee. It converts a renewal you control into a discretionary application you don't, with a possible exam attached and a limited route to challenge a refusal.
The Georgia State Board of Electrical Contractors runs its own two-year renewal cycle and its own CE regime. Its published requirement is 4 hours of approved continuing education per year, framed on the same page as the 8 hours needed for the two-year renewal period. Courses must be at least one hour long, and CE must be completed before you apply to renew — not during the application, and not after.
Acceptable categories are codes and standards; business law, insurance and finance; safety and OSHA compliance; materials and installation methods; and theoretical content related to the scientific knowledge underpinning electrical contracting.
Approved providers include public utilities, institutions under the jurisdiction of the Georgia Board of Technical and Adult Education, and electrical equipment manufacturers — with a statutory exception that trips people up precisely because manufacturers are otherwise on the approved list: the law prohibits credit for courses or programs conducted by manufacturers specifically to promote their products. A manufacturer-run class can count; a manufacturer-run class about why to buy their gear cannot.
The electrical board requires licensees to keep written documentation of CE activities for a minimum of five years after completion — two and a half times the residential board's retention window, for a contractor who might hold both. The board states outright that tracking hours is the licensee's responsibility and not the staff's, that it may request documentation from any licensee at any time outside a renewal audit, and that credit will not be given for classes without a certificate. The certificate itself has to identify the approved provider, the course title, the location and date, the number of credit hours, and a statement certifying satisfactory completion — a certificate missing any of those is a weak piece of evidence in an audit.
This is the newest change and the one most likely to catch a contractor who last renewed in 2024. As of January 1, 2026, licensees required to complete CE in Georgia must register with CE Broker and record their continuing education there, where the Board and its designees can see it. A no-cost basic limited-access account is the minimum. Both the residential/general contractors board and the electrical contractors board publish the same instruction, in the same words, including the warning that if you do not enter all of the required hours, "there is a high probability that you will be audited."
Practically: taking the hours is no longer the whole obligation. Hours that exist only as a PDF in your email are, from the Board's side of the screen, hours you have not reported.
| Residential & Commercial General Contractors (SLBRCGC) | Electrical Contractors | |
|---|---|---|
| Renewal cycle | Biennial — due June 30 of even-numbered years (June 30, 2026) | Two-year renewal period |
| CE required | Residential Basic 3 hrs/year · Residential Light Commercial 6 hrs/year · Commercial GC: none | 4 hrs/year — 8 hrs per two-year period |
| CE "year" defined | July 1 – June 30, stated in the rule | Per year; must be completed before applying to renew |
| Online limit | Online/correspondence capped at 50% of required hours | No online cap stated on the board's CE page |
| Record retention | 2 years following the end of the biennium | Minimum 5 years after completion |
| Late/penalty window | July 1 – December 31 of the renewal year, with a penalty fee | Not stated on the board's CE page — confirm with the board |
| After the window | Same effect as revocation; discretionary reinstatement, possible re-examination | Not stated on the board's CE page — confirm with the board |
| CE reporting | CE Broker, mandatory for both since January 1, 2026 | |
Georgia's board rule is unambiguous that the penalty period runs through December 31. Separately, an August 15, 2026 end-of-late-renewal date for the 2026 cycle has circulated in secondary summaries of this renewal. We could not verify that August 15 date against the Board's rules or its own published pages, and we are not going to state it as fact — but nor will we omit it, because the two dates point to very different decisions if you are reading this in late August 2026.
The most likely explanation is that an administrative or online-renewal cut-off is being conflated with the rule's penalty period, but that is our inference and not something we have confirmed. If you are currently unrenewed, treat this as the one item on this page to verify directly with the Board before doing anything else — the rule text is the safer authority, and the phone call is cheaper than a discretionary reinstatement.
Georgia offers reciprocity for Unlimited Commercial General Contractors with Louisiana and Mississippi, and for Residential Basic Contractors with Louisiana, Mississippi and South Carolina. Note the asymmetry: South Carolina counts on the residential side only.
All three of the following must hold: your license was obtained by passing the necessary exams in your state; you are a resident of, or your business was chartered in, the state where you hold the license; and the license has been active for at least 3 years with no disciplinary action based on a law violation. Fall outside any of them and the route is application by exam.
These are conditions of holding the license, not of renewing it, but they are the ones that turn up unexpectedly at renewal or when a firm changes shape:
Georgia is the state where the renewal is biennial but the CE isn't, and where the real deadline is six months after the one on the notice. Two boards, two record-retention windows, an annual accrual inside a two-year cycle, and a December 31 date that converts a renewal into a discretionary application. LicenseLedger keeps every license you hold — across every trade and every state — on one calendar, with the CE hours owed against each and reminders before the lapse window opens.
See how LicenseLedger tracks it →